The no sew week

So, the whole of last week, I did no sewing at all, and i was supposed to finish my jacket. Haven’t even started. I did a lot of musing though, on how sewing has taught me patience. I always used to hurry through things and if i cant finish anything in a hurry, i ditch it. I have surprised myself by consistently finishing my sewing projects now. Slowing down helps me finish things faster and more efficiently. Handling a baby has also aided the whole patience aspect.

If we watch other creatures in nature, the beauty of painstaking labour is evident. I’ve never seen a spider’s web done haphazardly…in a complete mess..never seen a bird’s nest that way either….humans have a lot of learning to do before we get to this perfection…

I love sewing..i love the art of pattern drafting. Converting a 3 D design to a 2 D pattern which in turn becomes a 3 D finished product is mathematical magic. Its amazing and i hope i get to master this art.

There are so many amazing sites to help me..like the “Fashion Incubator“. Its an amazing site…a little scary really. Ok…back to work on my jacket..bye bye now..

Leave a Reply

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

threadcult.wordpress.com/

A podcast for the sewing, fashion and textile obsessed

Sewing Myself Stylish

Reviving me and timeless techniques with fresh makes

