50 garments 50 weeks

Iv decided starting last week, that i would stick to my rule of making one garment a week for the next 50 weeks. There is no other way im going to learning all of pattern making and sewing. And without my own rules, i dont function very well.

So last week, i made a skirt based on the design i saw in another pattern book of mine by Dennic Chunman Lo.

the skirt sketch

Ever since my illustration classes started my sketching has improved tremendously 🙂 . anyway, the design is based on a basic skirt draft with a yoke. So the front skirt darts are replaced by the yoke, and the back has only the bottom part of the darts. Rest is taken up in the yoke.

Me wearing the skirt

the skirt

 

I couldn’t take very good pics, my baby kept trying to grab the camera..There are 3 pleats on either side of the center front. Otherwise its all just basic. I lined it with some white material i found in a menswear shop…Sadly you dont find good sewing materials here in bangalore. I dont know about the rest of india, but overall, sewing hobbyists are very few so nobody sells any sewing supplies in the city. You need to take a trip to the dank alleys of the market outside of the city to find things..anyway thats another story.

Skirt inside

skirt hem

 

 

I pinked the raw edges ( i love pinking…easiest and coolest way to finish raw edges..) and added an invisible zipper. i hand hemmed the skirt so its completely invisible..(thanks to Susan Khalje for getting the couture bug to bite me..:) Seriously, it it wasnt for Craftsy. com online classes, i would never have the option of learning couture sewing techniques from where i am…Totally thankful for the internet..Craftsy classes are awesome i think..thats it for this post..

Before i start thanking everyone involved in my life, i shall move on to my next post ..my day in search of sewing supplies in bangalore..

Leave a Reply

Essika kids

Handcrafted clothing for little ones

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

