Garment 3

Hello!! Last week was a really fruitful week!! I managed to perfect a body block for my size. If anyone  has tried personal fitting by themselves will know how difficult it is. I did it after a zillion attempts at reducing and increasing 1/8ths of a inch..2/8ths of a inch..aaahhh..one thing ive learnt… NEVER ignore an eigth of an inch thinking its just an itty bitty amount…it will come to bite you in your behind.(on your behind..?) anyway…the muslin i made was a beaut!!! i didnt want to take it off!!!

muslin

Just like personal fitting, personal photography is another pain..just see how the bodice fits..its molded itself to me..:DD

My confidence levels have gone up manifold i must say..if i can fit myself without being able to see myself..i can do anything..ha ha..

Now i can start making my clothes that are form fitting.. I still have Gretchen Hirsch’s class and Susan Khaljie’s class on Craftsy to complete. So look forward to seeing a beautiful corseted dress and a couture dress soon…

I made a dress from the template i made for myself. The fabric is soft cotton ( almost like malkha) with a block print design.

Its a maxi with with 2 gores, 1 in the front of the skirt and 1 in the back. I wanted a slit at the neckline of the bodice, so i cut the front in 2 pieces and stitched it till the bottom of the slit. So when i wear it, the slit doesnt make a V shape at the neckline. I dont like that somehow.

I coutured it up with some hand sewing as well. the neckline, arm hole and the slit are all hand finished, so you cant see any stitching line on the outside…soooo cool. I also think self faced openings look so chic…the slit at the neckline is self  faced, so there are no ugly stitching lines from joining a band there.

Back is basically the same as the basic back pattern.

My next creation will be again made in cotton ( will start on silk chiffons and georgettes very soon). Design illustration below. I used dry pastels to draw this, so cant really see the details. You can see my 3 months of fashion illustration classes paid off..:D

The dress will have a placket on the bodice and pockets on the skirt, and also a roll up sleeve. All of this i will be doing for the first time.

Hope for the best..!

Leave a Reply

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

threadcult.wordpress.com/

A podcast for the sewing, fashion and textile obsessed

