Animal prints are back

Or so i might say because I decided to make a dress in leopard print. ME! I would never have pegged myself as an animal prints girl, but this fabric was too good to pass up. Its a gorgeous stretch cotton i picked in a tiny shop in commercial street. Iv been doing a chapter on wrap styles (surplice) pattern making, and Iv made two dresses incorporating what i did in the chapter.

b4-(1-of-145 merl5-(1-of-1)

There I am, just about to make myself some tea..he he..Miss NV and I stumbled out of our beds at 6 am to take these pics…so excuse the poses…

This dress features a bodice that wraps, right over left and ends at the side seam. There are gathers at the right side wrap of the bodice. The skirt is a basic straight skirt with gathers on the side.

The only problem was that the wrap stretched being cut on the bias and all, not to mention the stretch factor of the fabric. So i had to take it in at the shoulder to offset this.

The dress is extremely comfortable, i can sleep in it. I didn’t line dress, since it wasn’t required. There is some hand stitching at the hemline of the skirt ( blind hem). I just figured out that i can do this on the machine as well.

Oh and I bought a new machine (exchanged it with the old one) and its fabulous. I’ll write in detail about that in the next post.

Ciao..Let me know your comments..

Comments

  1. wow.. its beautiful!!! I have a similar one.. but I think yours is waay better… plus you are looking really fab in it.. I dont like the fit of mine plus its a bit more leopardy.. now that ive seen a much better version.. dont think I will wear mine ever again.. :(…btw whats the NV sign on the photo?

    Like

    • LOl..NV is ms.Nancy Vaddi..my pro bono photographer..show me your leopard one…lemme see..this one I made is a wrap dress..I don’t know if that’s visible cos of the busy print…:-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

Essika kids

Handcrafted clothing for little ones

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

