Silk crepe sewing frenzy

I recently went to a new fabric gallery opened on Commercial street (Bangalore). I saw amazing silks, silk crepes, light as air printed chiffons and lots and lots of other stuff. I immediately bought silk crepe in 4 different colors. Silk crepe is an amazing fabric, its so light and crisp and has a muted sheen. (I didnt realize that it was quite expensive till the billing was done).  I also bought some chiffons, but ill post about it later.

So, i bought black, white, hot pink and sunflower yellow. You can get silk crepe dyed in any color you want. I’m dreaming of buying it in nudey beige and teal..

Iv made two of the silk crepes into tops. I was doing a chapter on kimono sleeves in the HJ Armstrong book.  I personally love the silhouette. Fuss free, beautiful and you can edit it and make it anyway you like. No fitting problems..

IMG_6699

IMG_6692

This is a short sleeved kimono top with no darts. I added three pleats at the bust. I faced all the edges (sleeves, neckline and hem). The facings themselves were finished with bias binding.

The crepe has a beautiful fall and it feels so light when i wear it.

blog pics 003

Muted sheen

blog pics 008

Facing and bias binding

This pic above is the bias binding on the facing. I did not underline the top so the facing is visible on the right side, but i liked the effect. So i just let it be.

I also used a twin needle to top stitch the garments edges. It looked cool..:)

One mistake i made is to use tracing paper to trace the pattern. Even though i used white it showed in some places as pale yellow. urgh..

No more tracing paper…

{Photos by Nancy Vaddi}

Comments

  1. francina says:

    Merlin .. absolutely love this blouse .. do you think you can make this for me in black and oyit ? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

threadcult.wordpress.com/

A podcast for the sewing, fashion and textile obsessed

Sewing Myself Stylish

Reviving me and timeless techniques with fresh makes

