Silk crepe No.2

This one is the second of the 4 colors I bought. This is a beautiful black, light weight silk crepe.. i decided to do a simple kimono sleeve blouse again, with the sleeve ending at elbow length.

Black crepe

I stabilized the outline of the garment with silk organza as usual. I cut it in the bias for curved seams and straight grain for the straight seams. It really works wonders, but the only problem is that the silk organza i have is a very stiff one. The shop did have a softer one, and somehow i bought this. So if the the garment is unlined, then the organza tapes that i put on the seam line gets very scratchy…

I didn’t line this one, basically because i was lazy, and i also didn’t have any good lining fabric. (Would hate to use polyester)

black crepe 2

black crepe

I know this is a silly pose but i wanted to show the kimono sleeve a lil better.

There are no closures for this top. Its a pretty simple top except for the sequin trim I’ve used. That trim is quite expensive. I bought it in commercial street, and apparently its sold only by the yard!! I was trying to do the conversion in meters and i think he pulled a fast one on me..Next time I’m carrying a conversion chart..

I laid the trim on the shoulder seam after it was all stitched up. I stitched it and then cut off the fabric underneath. (Like a lace insertion)

So there you go. Second one done..

{Photos by Nancy Vaddi}

Comments

  1. Von Hachi says:

    hey there! Please check out http://www.vonhachi.com. We are a clothing boutique based in India. Hope you love the clothes..See you around at Von Hachi

    Like

  2. I love silk! Havind such gorgeous fabric you don’t need complicated pattern! You look stunning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

threadcult.wordpress.com/

A podcast for the sewing, fashion and textile obsessed

Sewing Myself Stylish

Reviving me and timeless techniques with fresh makes

