My first knit dress

Learning pattern drafting is hectic business. And somehow I don’t get to make as many complete items as I would like to.Its mostly working with muslin and making bits and pieces..It just takes soooo much time..Just before going to europe, I wanted to make some clothes to wear and one of them was a knit dress. It was a struggle to give up my precious pattern drafting time to make clothes..:D I’ve not made many knit items, since I don’t get to buy good quality knit here in bangalore..I found this fabric in a tiny shop in the fabric market and pounced on it..I didnt realise that it was a flimsy, super stretchy knit, completely unsuitable for a dress. But i wanted to make a dress. I put two layers for the front and two for the back and basted it together. It worked out fine after that… PicMonkey Collage2 I did not do any stabilization other than stay stitching, so i have a niggling feeling that it is going to stretch at the neckline and the armhole very soon…but I’ve already worn it multiple times..so no worries.. IMG_6146 What do you think of the fedora hey? 😀 Hats and boots are great accessories for any dress…I should try wearing it with a saree sometime… IMG_6177 IMG_6195 Whoops…ok..therez  a lot of rubbish lying around, but you can blame my two yr old for that….hehe IMG_6192 This is an incredibly simple dress to make…just two pieces (front and back)  stitched together, panel stitched for the elastic at the waist, bias binding at the arm hole and neckline, and a slit on the sides (bottom) just turned over and stitched…I should have used tricot fusible tape for the neck and armhole, but i didnt have it then…I do now thanks to shopping in europe..:D BTW…do you like my header? I used Picmonkey to make it…Picmonkey is fabulous i think… I also love my DSLR…I’ve only just begun to explore its potential.. In other news…I’m furiously working on shirt pattern drafting…fiddling with sleeves, cuffs and collars..will post soon..

Comments

  1. The dress is great, very wise to make is self lined. And I love the hat, you look wonderful! Do try iit wiht a sari, and take a pix? I’m having bowler dreams, bowler with veil. I don’t think it will ever happen, I’m not in bowler country LOL

    Like

  2. The dress is great, very wise to make is self lined. And I love the hat, you look wonderful! Do try it with a sari, and take a pix? I’m having bowler dreams, bowler with veil. I don’t think it will ever happen, I’m not in bowler country LOL

    Like

  3. Good to find another person interested in sewing from Bangalore 🙂 Nice dress. Where do you go fabric shopping ? Are you still in Bangalore?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Essika kids

Handcrafted clothing for little ones

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

