The denim shirt

Here are the pictures I had promised to share…my first shirt..(This is a self drafted pattern from the chapter on shirts from H.J.Armstrong)

It has a mannish appearance to it. I made the pattern as it is without alterations to the basic shape just to see how it would look, being my first shirt n all. It is box shaped with increased width on the sides and armhole. I reduced the overall length, which is a mistake i think…

IMG_6246

IMG_6245

IMG_6244

IMG_6248

I added back darts in the end. It was too big and bulky, so i had to.

That’s enough of me..I’ll show some product shots now…

IMG_6222

I used a floral fabric for under part of the yoke, collar stand and cuff..It just would have been too bulky if i had to use two pieces of denim..I also used light weight interfacing (non-woven) to stabilize the upper collar, cuff, plackets, pocket and back yoke..

IMG_6225

COLLAR:

Its a basic shirt collar with a mandarin stand (its apparently called non-convertible collar).

IMG_6227

IMG_6233

POCKET:

Patch pocket with flap. I didn’t bother sewing a button on the pocket (my intentions were good when i marked the spot for the button hole, but can you blame me? I had to make some 15 button holes already..)

IMG_6228

IMG_6229

SHIRT PLACKET:

IMG_6230

SLEEVE PLACKET:

I found the world’s best sleeve placket tutorial on Threads magazine. Its amazing and I’m never following any other method.

IMG_6250

IMG_6232

There you have it…My only gripe is that the denim is too stiff and uncomfortable.

My next shirt is going to be in a flowy fabric like chiffon…

So what do you think?

Comments

  1. I think it is rather wonderful for a first shirt. Love the lady-touches with the strong manly shape. Your stitching is nice and straight and the details are suitably sized to the boxy style. You may find the large button on the sleeves too large to be comfortable and that’s why smaller buttons are traditionally used for the sleeve placket of a long sleeved shirt.
    What to think about a chiffon shirt? Ah, a more difficult fabric, but nothing more sexy than a chiffon shirt. Some starch the chiffon so it is easier to cut and sew (a good idea) and be sure to stay stitch all the curves and stress points. Enclosed (French) seams are also traditional. Paco Peralto Rovira has a wonderful tutorial on making a rolled hem here shown on the orange skirt. http://uniquedesignerpatterns.blogspot.com.es/p/blog-page_16.html I like the pictures. heh!
    Here’s to more wonderful things coming from your sewing room!

    Like

    • Thank you Mary Beth…Always nice to see your comments!.:) That’s good advice on starching the fabrics..I’m going to try that..That link you gave is excellent..I always do rolled hem with my rolled hem foot, and the effect is beautiful…My serger also does a good rolled hem, although it gives a different look..both are pretty..Plenty more to come for sure…:).Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Essika kids

Handcrafted clothing for little ones

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

