Strapless bustier dress by Burda

Hee hee..I’ve deserted my blog for I don’t know how long but I was busy sewing the whole time..seriously..I just didnt feel like putting it up since it was pretty casual stuff..anyway I’m making a comeback to blogging with this hot number by Burda : The strapless bustier dress..It was a contest and I fall for such things..I bought the pattern a week ago and today was supposed to be the submission date but they extended it…

I decided I’m going to post the pictures the way they are, inspite of the extra time given now..

This is the first time I’m attempting a boned corset like dress..and yay..its really not that difficult..I learnt a bit on Gertie’s class (Craftsy) on how to sew the bombshell dress but never tried it out..plus i had to hunt around here in Bangalore for the boning and i finally found it in a tiny alleyway…(bangalore peeps, if you want any details on where to get boning, pls drop a comment).

It fits great but i found that I cant really move much in it..( i can sashay in it, but if you ask me to dance with this dress on, I cant…)I have to keep tuggin it up..Might have to add spaghetti straps to it, if i have to wear it here..

I also reduced the length and added a silk organza trim to the bottom…

I interfaced the lining pieces in heavy weight interfacing (the one i usually use for collars), and before turning over the lining to the inside, I did under stitching of the lining to the main piece like a good girl. (You know how lazy we sewers get).

After making the whole thing, I tried it on and the invisible zipper decided to split…I did the zipper all over again..i mean..seriously i need a medal for that..

so here are the pics..If you are reading this and you like my dress, please do vote on the Burdastyle site…Thank you!! πŸ™‚

IMG_6418

 

 

 

IMG_6416-001


 

IMG_6430

 

IMG_6431

 

IMG_6432

 

IMG_6433

 

IMG_6434

 

 

 

Comments

  1. where did you buy the boning. btw, dress looks great πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hey Shruthi..are you from bangalore? there are places here where you can get boning..seppings road is one such place..its in a small gully but if you ask around you can find it..:) Thanks for your comment btw..

      Like

      • thank you so much πŸ™‚ yes i am from Bangalore. and i love your blog. its very inspirational πŸ™‚ thank you so much. you should continue blogging and help people like us.

        Like

  2. can you share the pattern pdf please πŸ™‚ shruthi.lio26@gmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

threadcult.wordpress.com/

A podcast for the sewing, fashion and textile obsessed

