Another linen dress…

If I have to sew with only fabric, it will be linen all the way…I love its simple, no fuss, easy breezy look that says “I look cooler when I’m all crumply”..And little girls in linen dresses is pretty, pretty, pretty..In fact, I might change the lyrics of the song “Favorite things” to make it..”Girls in white linen dresses and blue satin sashes”..Of course,it might throw the rhythm all off, so don’t try singing it..

I drafted the pattern for this one, as I usually do, but the design is something I lifted off Pinterest..he he…It was a women’s top from a brand called Envelope, where the bust dart was gathered…here’s the pic..

Gathers from the bust dart - a nice way to add fullness without adding too much to your front.

I modified this design, since i made it for my 4 yr old girl, so no bust dart obviously..I just made a seam at the empire line in a the shape of an upside down L and then gathered that piece..

Linen love

 

IMG_6635

Do not look too closely at the embroidery..I don’t know how people do it but by the time i finish one flower, I’m exhausted…so i just hurry through it..and this is what happens…

The sleeve is pretty nice huh? Its a split sleeve, that required a bound finish before getting stitched together..IMG_6620

 

IMG_6621

 

IMG_6628

 

IMG_6629

 

IMG_6631

 

So there it is….hope you like it..:)

 

Comments

  1. I like linen also. When I mentioned the drawback of its wrinkles, a friend said oh, but it’s an elegant wrinkled. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

threadcult.wordpress.com/

A podcast for the sewing, fashion and textile obsessed

