The hole dress

Why is it named thus, you ask? Scroll down..

back image

That’s why..”What a weird shaped hole!”, you might think. It was originally intended to be in the shape of a heart, since I made it around Valentine’s day n all…I’ve noticed my mind wanders a lot while cutting..While day dreaming about how nice the finished dress will look, I forgot to cut the ‘dip’ in the heart, and instead merrily cut a straight line. So now it looks like a dew drop..Okay, that’s not so bad.

The fabric is ancient.I have a magpie like tendency to collect fabric, and this particular one had a cross-wise stretch to it, that made me go “whoa”..i had to have it..It sat around in my overflowing cupboard for 4 years, only to become a dress with an intentional hole in it..he he..The pattern is self drafted.

I think it looks beautiful, with a watercolor effect. It particularly looks great against the distressed wall of my apartment building, like a clash of two things that are different..(i was supposed to write something intelligent there, but I’m soooo sleep deprived”.

The bodice is finished fully with a soft cotton lining to cover the raw edges, ( that’s the only way I sew these days). The skirt has a lining with organza ruffles attached to it, to give a little volume, or as they say, ooomph..

I used press buttons, because I didn’t want to take on button holes and buttons..that was too much work.

 

I took these pictures with my DSLR Canon 1000D. Any interesting photography tips anyone has with a basic DSLR, please share.

Hope you like em..please do leave a comment. I would love to read them..

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Essika kids

Handcrafted clothing for little ones

Madewell

Good days start with great jeans. All the evidence you need, found here.

Storytellers of Wonder

www.jaypore.com

The Blog of Author Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss's 4-Hour Workweek and Lifestyle Design Blog

Footloose Forever

Travel Diary of A Wandering Mind

The Shooting Star

Just a girl who travels.

Santa's Reindeer

The world through my lens.....

Watching The Year

My Year in Watching Movies

